+- +-

+-LiveRacers

 

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+-Stats ezBlock

Members
Total Members: 253
Latest: Luke Hollom
New This Month: 7
New This Week: 2
New Today: 1
Stats
Total Posts: 9132
Total Topics: 738
Most Online Today: 7
Most Online Ever: 38
(May 13, 2019, 12:55:21 am)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 2
Total: 2

Author Topic: FFB set up - Clipping tool  (Read 435 times)

Offline Juan Amaya

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
FFB set up - Clipping tool
« on: February 18, 2019, 10:24:34 pm »
If you guys are familiar with this thread https://forum.studio-397.com/index.php?threads/guide-optimal-ffb-settings-for-rfactor-2-the-key-to-being-in-the-zone-d.42931/, then you guys probably know that the tool  from TechAde's  "rF2 Pedal & FFB Overlay Plugin" to  determine if your FFB is too high and it is clipping does not work anymore as it was  meant to work as an overlay in DX9.  None of those overlay plugins work anymore under DX11.

To my surprise, I saw today a post by The Iron Wolf in the Studio397 forum, where he stated that it was possible to do it using the Simhub Dashboard Utility. He made reference to a video posted by Martin Fiala where he showed the FFB utility and explained at a very high level how to build the utility using Simhub.

So, I have built it using a dashboard in Simhub. You can get the utility here: http://www.myfamilyhomeopath.ca/images/FFBGauge.rar

In my case, I use a small secondary screen to display different Simhub dashboards and I am using it to display the FFB Gauge tool as well. See below.

« Last Edit: October 03, 2019, 02:53:45 pm by Juan Amaya »
"To finish first, you must first finish." - Juan Manuel Fangio

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Like Like x 2 View List

Offline Chad Brown

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1652
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 11:18:22 pm »
For those of us using VR the utility may be a little more difficult to make work. However, I suspect that since we can pin windows inside our VR environment we should be able to put the utility on a second screen from the PC and then pin that screen into our VR environment. I'll see if I can give it a crack this week.

Offline Juan Amaya

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2019, 12:55:32 am »
For those of us using VR the utility may be a little more difficult to make work. However, I suspect that since we can pin windows inside our VR environment we should be able to put the utility on a second screen from the PC and then pin that screen into our VR environment. I'll see if I can give it a crack this week.

I think you will only use the utility once per car.  I would just go for a few laps using a regular screen, see if there is clipping, set the right FFB value and that is it.  No need to use it again. It will not change for that car after that unless there is an update and you may have to check again.
"To finish first, you must first finish." - Juan Manuel Fangio

Offline Chad Brown

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1652
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2019, 12:02:37 am »
I got a chance to try this out today. It is amazing how much crap I can do when I am not working a zillion hours. I installed simHub and added the FFB utility. I then ran Simhub and had it planted on my second screen. Once I entered VR I opened my second screen in the VR environment and pinned the utility screen within my VR environment. I fired up rF2 and upon entering the server there was the utility. It worked like a charm. Great Job Juan.

Offline Juan Amaya

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2019, 12:24:52 am »
I got a chance to try this out today. It is amazing how much crap I can do when I am not working a zillion hours. I installed simHub and added the FFB utility. I then ran Simhub and had it planted on my second screen. Once I entered VR I opened my second screen in the VR environment and pinned the utility screen within my VR environment. I fired up rF2 and upon entering the server there was the utility. It worked like a charm. Great Job Juan.

Excellent.  I am glad it work.  I will post the dashboard I use just in case you guys want to use it.

Cheers, Juan
"To finish first, you must first finish." - Juan Manuel Fangio

Offline Ibby

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Location: Boulder CO USA
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2019, 03:10:44 pm »
Chad,
Do you mean you can now add overlays inside the VR headset?
Does that mean we could add a trackmap or some of those other cool overlays inside the Oculus Rift?
Maybe we should start a new thread for this and a few directions for the less tech savvy like me!
Paul
i7-7700, nVidia gtx1080ti, Oculus Rift, Logitech Momo.

Offline Chad Brown

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1652
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2019, 04:35:49 pm »
If the ffb overlay worked I suppose the track map overlay could work as well... I'd have to try it out I suppose.

Offline Steve Young

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2019, 02:22:40 am »
Hi Juan, I just found your ffb gauge for rfactor 2 and it works great. Thank you 1 game dialed in. I also have Assetto Corsa Competizione. loaded in simhub all gauges work except ffb? would you know how I could fix this for this game? Thanks again

Offline Juan Amaya

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 426
  • Location: Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2019, 11:28:41 pm »
Hi Juan, I just found your ffb gauge for rfactor 2 and it works great. Thank you 1 game dialed in. I also have Assetto Corsa Competizione. loaded in simhub all gauges work except ffb? would you know how I could fix this for this game? Thanks again

Hi Steve, I am glad it helped you.

I checked the available properties in Simhub and it looks like FFB data is not available for ACC.

Cheers, Juan
"To finish first, you must first finish." - Juan Manuel Fangio

Offline Steve Young

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: FFB set up - Clipping tool
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2019, 01:56:10 pm »
Ok Thanks Juan.. Looks Like ACC has on FFB gauge kinda like PCars2 built in, so all is well. Hope to see you on the track
Like Like x 1 View List

 

+- Shoutbox

November 18, 2019, 09:19:33 pm Juan Amaya says: NEXT RACE: Sebring, November 24th, 4:35pm GMT, 11:35am ET
http://vrc.createaforum.com/vrc-events/vrc-gt3-2019-fall-series-sebring/

November 17, 2019, 07:17:18 pm Simon J says: VRC GT3 2019 Fall Series Portugal https://simresults.net/191117-7Tr

November 10, 2019, 07:03:08 pm Simon J says: VRC GT3 2019 Fall Series Monza https://simresults.net/191110-G79

September 23, 2019, 08:23:53 pm Juan Amaya says: Standings have been updated
http://vrc.createaforum.com/vrc-business/vrc-fall-series-2019-results-and-points-standings/

August 25, 2019, 09:52:06 pm Simon J says: VRC GT3 2019 Fall Series - Toban (Pre-season) https://simresults.net/190825-BJ5

View Shout History

+-Recent Topics

VRC GT3 2019 Fall Series Sign Up by Luke Hollom
November 21, 2019, 11:30:22 pm

Hello by Simon J
November 18, 2019, 08:17:48 pm

I'm back! by Chad Brown
November 17, 2019, 07:22:31 am

McLaren 720S Understeer by Juan Amaya
November 12, 2019, 04:40:43 pm

Hello/Hola! by CatXn
November 09, 2019, 12:10:35 pm